Featured Mobileburn Video

<Home 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Review of LG's solid Ally Android phone for Verizon


Review by Michael Oryl on Friday May 21, 2010.

lg ally · verizon · android reviews · smartphone reviews · lg news · android news · smartphone news · michael oryl

Sponsored links, if any, appear in green.

Score

3.9 stars
"Good"

(How we score)


Great call quality, solid hardware, high-res touchscreen, fantastic keyboard
Software glitches, vanilla music player, only 3.2mp camera

Summary

The LG Ally is an affordable, yet powerful Android 2.1 powered smartphone that works on Verizon Wireless' 3G network. At launch, it costs $99.99 with a two-year contract - half what the Motorola DROID costs. And like the DROID, it sports a speedy 600MHz processor, a wide-VGA resolution touchscreen, and a slide-out 4-row QWERTY keyboard with a d-pad controller.

The DROID, however, has a more stable software build on it and offers a larger display and a bit more style. The Ally, though, offers fantastic call audio quality and does most everything pretty darn well.

The device is already fairly easy to recommend for those looking for a keyboard-equipped Android smartphone on Verizon, and a software update could improve its standing even more.

You'll find a video of the LG Ally for Verizon Wireless after the Table of Contents, below.

Table of Contents and Scorecard

Page 1

Page 2

Page 3

Page 4

Page 5

Page 6

Page 7


<Home 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

 

lizzie @ 9:25:33PM EDT on Friday May 21, 2010

Can you text with just your fingernail on the touch screen like you can with the htc protouch phone from alltel?

gringo @ 5:16:34PM EDT on Saturday May 22, 2010

is there any phone out there that matches the iphone but not Apple?

don @ 8:08:59PM EDT on Friday June 18, 2010

I just got one.. its a very nice phone. everything works real well, does not come with manual so you have to do some searching online to find answers to questions you might have. the battery life is not that long, but since you're going to have the screen on alot that is going to be obvious.. i highly recommend it.

Tom @ 6:06:09PM EDT on Monday July 5, 2010

Is bluetooth both hands free and voice dialing. Important for people living in states that will ticvket you for using a cell phone while driving.

Dee @ 7:32:58AM EDT on Friday July 9, 2010

Do you know if I can take this to Europe and use with a SIM card change over there?

vicky @ 10:17:21AM EDT on Wednesday July 21, 2010

I had excellent cell phone reception on old LG- bought the ally- can not get service at my house using as a phone. Can not decide if I should keep this device if I can not use it as a phone!

Wendy @ 12:34:12AM EDT on Sunday August 15, 2010

I have one and am not happy that I cant send video's via text...Uncool, especially since my older phone had no problem doing so and wasn't known as a "Smartphone".
I also have issues where my phone drops calls in my own house...and yes I updated it!

Naomi @ 8:48:07PM EDT on Wednesday September 15, 2010

I hate this phone. I thought it was going to be Great.. but was wrong. the txt msg and email are terrible. The notification bar that tells you there are new messages is LITERALLY 1/8 in wide and it flashes the message for 1 second. then - you just better HOPE you heard one of the super lame tones telling you a msg is in. SOmetimes it simply wont send my photos and WILL NOT send the pictures through email. Im so frustrated with this piece of crap Im ready to return it. 1 week .. Love affair over. give me back my old phone.

Kim @ 2:15:43PM EDT on Thursday October 14, 2010

I have always had very good luck with LG phones in the past, so when the Ally became available it was a "no brainer" for me. I was wrong. While I love the features and ease of access to them, the total lack of reception (phone calls, messaging) has made this device a TOTAL disappointment for me. I would recommend the Ally ONLY if you don't plan on using it as an actual phone often.

Taylor @ 1:09:55PM EST on Monday December 20, 2010

The LG Ally sucks. I've had it for about a month. It keeps acting up. When you're at the home screen, or any other screen for that matter, you can press the end call button to turn off the backlight. Then, you can press it again to turn the backlight back on. A lot of the times, it doesn't work. The backlight will turn off but it won't turn back off. That's not the only problem though. If you're thinking about buying the LG Ally, DON'T DO IT. It's one of the worst phones I've ever had.

.... @ 2:33:47PM EDT on Monday July 11, 2011

i just happen to love my Ally and i have had it for about 6 months now

Tina @ 12:26:29AM EDT on Wednesday August 3, 2011

can the LG Ally be unlocked?

toadergirl @ 11:52:40AM EDT on Wednesday August 24, 2011

i love my ally because it really helps me out alot

About the author

Michael Oryl
Michael is the Philadelphia based owner and former editor-in-chief of MobileBurn.com. You can follow him on Twitter as @MichaelOryl

Related Stories

CLOSE
Insert title here