Featured Mobileburn Video

Reminder: your company can wipe your phone, including personal data, without warning


News by Andrew Kameka on Wednesday January 22, 2014.

smartphone news · andrew kameka

Sponsored links, if any, appear in green.

Smartphone owners who participate in bring your own device (BYOD) programs at their place of employment should backup their personal content early and frequently because personal photos and data can be gone in an instant when the employer remotely wipes that data.

The Wall Street Journal has a story highlighting the common practice of companies remotely wiping employee phones when that person resigns or is fired. Though the wipes are intended to remove company data and intellectual property, they sometimes also strip the user of all the personal communication, photos, and data stored on the phone. Many of the modern device management tools allow companies to remove only work related data, but others choose to wipe everything to ensure that nothing sensitive for the company is left in the hands of the departing employee.

If you work for a company with a BYOD policy, pay close attention to it and check to see if it allows for remote wiping of the entire device. Ask your device manager for clarity on the policies because there's no guarantee you will receive advanced warning about a device being erased. Also backup personal information to another source such as an SD card or cloud storage provider like Dropbox, Box, Google Drive, or SkyDrive.

source: Wall Street Journal, via: 9to5Mac

 
blog comments powered by Disqus

About the author

Andrew Kameka
Andrew is MobileBurn.com's managing editor. He is based in Miami, Florida.

Related Stories

CLOSE