News by Andrew Kameka on Friday November 30, 2012.
|Sponsored links, if any, appear in green.|
Facebook today announced that it will give members the option to automatically upload photos taken with the camera on their Apple iPhone or Android device. The new photo sync feature will behave similarly to how Google+ uses Instant Upload. All photos captured with a smartphone are uploaded into a private Facebook album visible only to the account holder. Users then get the option to select certain photos that will be shared publicly with friends or kept private in the Synced album.
Synched photos have actually been available to a very small number of Facebook users since August when the social networking giant began testing the feature. Facebook is now enabling sync on all accounts, so Android and iPhone users should see the option appear later today by going to the photos section. Synced photos will not be available to everyone immediately, but users who have the latest version of Facebook (updated Nov. 16 for Android or Nov. 27 for iOS) should notice a change in the Photos section soon. Once it is available, users can turn the setting on or of, or set to only sync over Wi-Fi to manage data caps or battery life.Facebook
Andrew is MobileBurn.com's managing editor. He is based in Miami, Florida.